• Jul 07 2014

    Congratulations to two NITheP Associates

    2013/2014 BHP Biliton Awards

    Two NITheP Associates were nominated for this year's awards:

    Category: To an individual for an outstanding contribution to science, engineering and technology (SET) over a lifetime

    Prof Jean Cleymans - Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of Cape Town

    Category: To an individual or a team for an outstanding contribution to SETI through communication for outreach and creating awareness over the last 5 years, sponsored by the South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA)

    Prof Azwinndini Muronga - Associate Professor of Physics and Director of the University of Johannesburg Soweto Science Centre

    At the event held in Johannesburg on the 3rd of July 2014, Prof Azwinndini Muronga was awarded the prize in his category. NITheP is very proud of both of our Associates for being nominated and being recognized for the work that they have done in the past.

    Pictured below are (L) Prof Azwinndini Muronga and (R) Prof Jean Cleymans

    Dr Jabu Nukeri (SAASTA Director), Prof Azwinndini Muronga (UJ Physics Department and Soweto Science Centre Director), Minister of the Department of Science and Technology, Honourable Naledi Pandor.