2nd NITheP Winter School on Computational Methods in Physics 2017 - Registration Form

To attend this workshop, please complete the registration form below.

  • Oct 04 2010

    Nonequilibrium quantum many-particle correlated systems


    Alexander Avdeenkov (NITheP, South Africa)
    Daniel Kosov (ULB, Belgium)


    4 October 2010 to 8 October 2010.


    This workshop aims to bring together researchers in quantum field theory of nonequilibrium states from various branches of physics, including atomic, molecular and nuclear and condensed matter physics. The principle objective of the workshop is to consolidate the efforts in nonequilibrium many-body theory. Topics will include, but not limited to (i) nonequilibrium quantum transport through nanostructures, (ii) out of equilibrium nuclear and AMO systems, (iii) nonequilibrium dynamics of ultracold atomic quantum gases. We plan to create an interactive atmosphere with an open exchange of ideas and ample time for discussions.


    A 5 day workshop. Since a lot of different science will be discussed, the speakers will try to explain in broad, understandable terms what the main challenge is that they are confronting and what are the general tools they are using. Talks are 45 min duration, followed by 15 min discussion.


    Wallenberg Research Center, Stellenbosch, South Africa.

    List of invited speakers

    1 Alexander Altland (University of Koeln, Germany)
    2 Heiko Appel (University of California, San Diego, USA)
    3 Juergen Berges (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
    4 Michael Bonitz (Kiel University, Germany)
    5 Iacopo Carusotto (Iniversita di Trento, Italy)
    6 Pawel Danielewicz (University of Michigan, USA)
    7 Peter Drummond (University of Queensland, Australia)
    8 Massimiliano Esposito (Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
    9 Michael Galperin (UC San Diego, USA)
    10 Alexander Itin (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)
    11 Michael Kastner (NITheP, Stellenbosch,South Africa)
    12 Daniel Kosov (Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
    13 Hans Kroha ( Universitat Bonn, Germany)
    14 Robert van Leeuwen (University of Javaskila, Finland)
    15 Mathias Nest (TU Munchen, Germany)
    16 Felix von Oppen (Freie Universitat, Germany)
    17 Jens Paaske (Nils Bohr Institute, Denmark)
    18 Francesco Petruccione (University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
    19 Izak Snyman (NITheP, Stellenbosch,South Africa)
    20 Gianluca Stefanucci (University of Rome, Italy)
    21 Marzena Szymanska (University of Warwick, UK)
    22 Lothar Mühlbacher (Freiburg University, Germany)
    23 Azzwinndini Muronga (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)

    Registration Information

    Due to space limitations, the number of participants will be strictly limited. At present, only a few more participants can be admitted. For informal enquiries, please contact the organizers (avdeenkov@sun.ac.za , tel. 27-21-808-3863; dkosov@ulb.ac.be, 32-2-650-5795).



    17:45 -18:00 Registration at the NITheP http://www.stias.ac.za/location_map.html
    The registration will be followed by Welcome cocktail reception at the local wine farm http://www.lanzerac.co.za/
    The transportation from the institute to the farm will be provided
    (we plan to leave the institute at 18:00)


    8:45-9:00 Opening: F.Scholtz

    Morning session chair: Felix von Oppen
    9:00-10:00 Hans Kroha
    "Non-equilibrium Mott-Hubbard systems in strong external laser fields"
    10:00-11:00 Gianluca Stefanucci
    "Time-dependent transport in correlated and Josephson nanojunctions"
    11:00-11:30 coffee
    11:30-12:30 Daniel Kosov
    "Nonequilibrium quasiparticles"

    12:30-14:00 lunch

    Afternoon session chair: Pawel Danielewicz
    14:00-15:00 Michael Bonitz
    "Electron dynamics in laser excited atoms and quantum dots"
    15:00 -15:30 coffee
    15:30-16:30 Mathias Nest
    "First principles approach to correlated electron dynamics and statistical physics"
    16:30-17:30 Francesco Petruccione
    "Open quantum dynamics of simple spin systems"


    Morning session chair: Peter Drummond
    9:00-10:00 Jens Paaske
    "The Nonequilibrium Kondo Problem"
    10:00-11:00 Robert van Leeuwen
    "Solving the Kadanoff-Baym equations for time-dependent quantum transport through interacting systems"
    11:00-11:30 coffee
    11:30-12:30 Lothar Mühlbacher
    "Diagrammatic Monte Carlo simulations for contacted quantum systems"

    12:30-14:00 lunch

    Afternoon session chair: Michael Bonitz
    14:00-15:00 Peter Drummond
    "Quantum dynamics with entangled phase spaces"
    15:00 -15:30 coffee
    15:30-16:30 Marzena Szymanska
    "Nonequilibrium Bose-Einstein condensates and superfluids: Keldysh field
    theoretical approach"
    16:30-17:30 Alexander Itin
    "Dynamics of quantum phase transitions and many-particle Landau-Zener models"


    Morning session chair: Robert van Leeuwen
    9:00 -10:00 Pawel Danielewicz
    "Towards quantum transport theory for nuclear reactions"
    10:00-11: 00 Azzwinndini Muronga
    "Non-equilibrium fluid dynamics for relativistic nuclear collisions"
    11:00- 11:30 coffee
    11:30-12:30 Juergen Berges
    "Nonequilibrium instabilities and fixed points in quantum field theory"

    12:30-14:00 lunch

    Afternoon session chair: Michael Galperin
    14:00-15:00 Massimiliano Esposito
    "Thermodynamics and nonequilibrium fluctuations in small devices"
    15:00 -15:30 coffee
    15:30-16:30 Alexander Altland
    "Fluctuation relations in transport"
    16:30-17:30 Michael Kastner
    "Nonequivalence of ensembles for long-range quantum spin systems in optical lattices"


    Morning session chair: Juergen Berges
    9:00-10:00 Felix von Oppen
    "Non-Abelian statistics and topological quantum computation in 1D wire networks"
    10:00-11:00 Izak Snyman
    "Polarization of a charge qubit strongly coupled to a voltage-driven quantum point contact"
    11:00- 11:30 coffee
    11:30-12:30 Iacopo Carusotto
    "Non-equilibrium fluids of light: theory and experiments"

    12.30-14.00 lunch

    Afternoon session chair: Hans Kroha
    14:00-15:00 Heiko Appel
    "Stochastic quantum molecular dynamics: real-time electron and ion dynamics for open quantum systems"
    15:00 -15:30 coffee
    15:30 - 16:30 Michael Galperin
    "Raman spectroscopy of molecular junctions"
    16:30 - 17:00 Closing words

    18:00 Conference dinner

    NITheP contact information:

    For administrative assistance, please contact Monique Louw, Secretary, NITheP at 021-808-2649 or 083 272 7734.